Make your own free website on

Please choose the topic you wish to see, or scroll down to read through them all.

  • Introduction
  • Basic Beliefs
  • Symbols
  • The Hierarchy of Demons
  • The Practice of Demonology
  • In Closing




    In our attempt to reasearch demonology over the interenet, we were surprised to find only one page pertaining to this subject matter from the practitioners point of view. Subsequintly, we were not surprised to find thousands of christian pages condemning the practice of demonology without a hint of what demonology really is. With that said, our knowledge of demonology is rather limited.

    Webster's dictionary defines demonology as 'The branch of learning concerned with demons; also, beleif in or theory of demons.'.

    Webster's dictionary defines a demon (also spelled Daemon) as 'an attendant spirit; an evil spirit; a devil.'.

    The word Devil derives the greek word diabolis, originally meaning an accuser or traducer.


    Basic Beliefs


    As far as we can tell demonology is not a purely evil practice, nor is it purely good. The intention lies with the practitioner. Apparently, neither the ability to heal or the abilitiy to hurt is condemned by the practice of demonology.

    Because of the belief in different dimensions (as desribed later in the symbols section) demonologists believe in astral projection, or the ability to project themselves into different planes and dimensions with their astral body, while their physical body stays in this plane or dimension.

    Demonologists also believe in reincarnation. They believe that their purpose is to gain all the knowledge there is to gain on their path to enlightenment, which would be impossible to do in one lifetime, and then become a demon guide.

    Every demonologist has a demon guide. It is said to appear soon after your initiation into demonology. It is also said that your demon guide will have close to the same alignment as you, meaning a good person will most likely not get an evil demon guide. A demon guide is there to help you learn, and in my opinion, is there to keep you out of trouble.




    From our research we could only find one symbol that demonologists use in their practices, which is the seven pointed star (which we have two pictures of at the top of this page). The seven pointed star represents the seven dimensions in which the demons may travel, one of which is the one we exist in.


    The Hierarchy of Demons


    The angelic court had been invented in the fourth century out of the writings of Paul (Col. i. 16; Eph. i. 21) by the Pseudo-dionysius and consisted of nine orders of angels. There where three hierarchies, each with three orders.

    First Hierarchy

    Seraphim - Lucifer

    Seraphim - Beelzebub (who is the prince of seraphim and next unto Lucifer)

    Seraphim - Leviathin (who is the prince of the same order and the ring leader of the heritics)

    Seraphim - Asmodeus (who is of the same order and in a seraphim unto this day because he burns with the desire to tempt men with his swine of luxuriousness and is the prince of wantons)

    Cherubim - Balberith (who is the prince of cherubim)

    Thrones - Astaroth (who is the prince of thrones)

    Thrones - Verrine (who is next unto Astaroth)

    Thrones - Gressil (who is third in the order of thrones)

    Thrones - Sonneillon (who is fourth in the order of thrones)


    Second Hierarchy


    Power - Carreau (who is the prince of powers)

    Power - Carnivean (who is also a prince of powers)

    Dominion - Oeillet (who is the prince of dominion)

    Dominion - Rosier (who is next unto Oeillet)

    Principality - Verrier (who is the prince of principalities)


    Third Hierarchy


    Virtue - Belias (who is the prince of virtues)

    Archangel - Olivier (who is the prince of archangels)

    Angel - Iuvart (who is the prince of angels)


    This is a list of the seven devils and their power to provoke people to commit the seven deadly sins acorrding to Binsfeld, 1589.

    1. Lucifer - Pride

    2. Mammon - Avarice

    3. Asmodeus - Lechery

    4. Satan - Anger

    5. Beelzebub - Gluttony

    6. Leviathan - Envy

    7. Belphegor - Sloth


    According to Alphonsus de Spina there are ten varities of devils.


    1. Fates

    2. Poltergiests

    3. Incubi and Succubi

    4. Marching Hosts

    5. Familiar Demons

    6. Nightmare Demons

    7. Demons

    8. Decptive Demons

    9. Clean Demons

    10. Demons called xorguinae or bruxae


    The Practice of Demonology


    We could not find any information about rituals, spells or other kinds of worship pertaining to demonology.


    In Closing


    There are many questions about this topic that we would like to find answers to. As soon as we do, they will be posted here. Some of the questions we have include:

    1. Does demonology predate christianity?

    2. How specifically do demonologist practice their religion?

    3. Are demons actually worshipped or worked with?

    If anyone has anything to add to this page, including comments, questions, or corrections, please e-mail us at

    This site is 2001 Supernatural or Natural. All graphics and information are copyrighted by their individual owners and are used here for non profit use only.